Reading Wrong Way ‘Round

There’s really nothing like picking up an intriguing new book by an author you’ve never read before, liking the synopsis enough to start reading…and discovering that the book is clearly the tail-end of a series. *sigh*

I picked up Kalimpura by Jay Lake from the library a few weeks ago. It was in their SF/F new-releases section, and I liked the look of the cover. It has a woman of color carrying two babies in slings and a long knife in her hand, looking determined. Since I’ve become a mother, I’ve found myself more drawn to stories featuring mothers, so I was intrigued. It took me a few weeks to start it, as I didn’t feel emotionally up to it for a little while, but once I did I certainly have been enjoying it. Really, I only have one complaint, and that’s the lack of any signifier of its series-status on the cover or inside!

Honestly, I almost want to quit reading it (I’m not very far in yet). Mind you, I enjoy the character of Green so much and Lake’s style well enough that I want to start reading Green (the apparent first book of the trilogy) in its place. I just feel like I’m missing a lot in Kalimpura, references to the previous books. It’s been rather hard to work out what’s supposed to be going on and why.

Then again, I’ll probably just keep reading. Green just beat the snot out of an assassin who tried to threaten her children, despite being recently post-partum and out of shape. And before that she got uppity with a god of pain and got away with it. She’s pretty bad-ass. Also, this is my first Jay Lake book and I’m a little too early in the book to decide for sure whether I love the style. But I’ll say this:

For a middle-aged guy, Lake sure has a rock-solid grasp of what it’s like being a mother of newborns, complete with the leaking and weird feeling body and the intensity of emotion and the protectiveness.

I’ll probably post my thoughts on the complete book at some point. Most likely in 4 months or something. šŸ˜›

5 Comments

  1. Shannon said,

    June 6, 2013 at 5:24 am

    Read Green. Lake has a daughter (maybe daughters?) and wanted to write a book for her. Or at least so I read. And it’s pretty interesting to see how he shaped his strong heroine. Green is the first, and quite likable. I agree that the Dos Santos covers are really sharp, too.

    But I totally understand how you feel about picking up an end of series book. I check, carefully, to see if I’m starting mid-series, and I always feel utterly betrayed when I hit that point in the story where I realize that the author didn’t write an amazingly intricate dive-in like I thought, but several books precede what I’m reading, and someone, likely in marketing, made the decision to hide that fact.

    • Lia said,

      June 6, 2013 at 8:38 pm

      Oh yea, I definitely don’t blame Lake, I know it’s marketing that made this knuckle-headed decision. And I am totally gonna read ‘Green’, but apparently I’ll be reading it second. I keep meaning to stop reading ‘Kalimpura’ so I can read them in proper order, and just…not.

      I read half the book last night before bed. šŸ˜›

      • Shannon said,

        June 6, 2013 at 8:48 pm

        I really liked Green’s originality, but I wasn’t as enthused with the sequel. I no longer recall why. Because of that, I didn’t pick up Kalimpura when I saw it, but hearing your enthusiasm, I’m going to put it on my to-read list. Thanks!

      • Lia said,

        June 6, 2013 at 8:51 pm

        Hehe, glad to help! There’s a few clumsinesses stylistically, but I really am enjoying his portrayal of a fiery, fighting, angry young woman growing into a mother.
        Anyway, enjoy! ^_^

  2. June 11, 2013 at 6:03 am

    […] posted about reading Kalimpura by Jay Lake before, but since I’ve now finished it I can give a little more informed response to the […]


Leave a Reply

