December Update

Well, Nanowrimo is over for another year. I didn’t win it, but I did write most days, so that’s something. I finished with 17,000 words exactly (yes, I orchestrated that because I’m OCD about things like that!) in my novel, currently named Meretseger. The novel is supposed to be an adult historical-fiction novel, so it needs to be about 80,000 words at the very minimum. Unfortunately, I finished Nano about half-way through my outline, so I’m not sure what to make of this! The possible explanations are 1) I just need to fill in more detail, plot arcs, and side-plots, 2) I’m really writing a novella and 3) I’m really writing a YA novel (the protagonist is technically 14). So while I certainly intend to continue working on the novel in the coming weeks and months, I also need to figure out what, exactly, I’m working on!

But in order to give myself a bit of a break, I’ve put the novel aside for a week or two, and I’m writing some short fiction instead. Today I started a short story I’ve waited all month to write and am very excited about. It’s a story with a feline protagonist called Saki’s Song, and hopefully I’ll finish the first draft this week. As a twist, I’m also writing it almost entirely on my cell-phone! So, we’ll see how that goes.

After that I’ll be writing another short story for my writer’s group, about a librarian set in a tiny English village called Bollocksy-Twatte-on-the-Water. Yes we’re all silly and pervy, and we enjoy playing with naughty words sometimes. 😉 Between all that, I’ll be editing an older short-story that I want to try and get back out into the Land of Submissions, and trying finish reading a couple of new books.

I’m still not blogging regularly here, but I am posting regularly on my Tumblr page, so feel free to follow me there. And I’ve been keeping up the regular weekly posting at my new foodie blog, Edible Editions, so if you like to cook be sure and check it out. December is Holiday Recipe month, so I’ll be posting scrumptious holiday treats every week this month!

If I don’t manage to post here again this month, please have a happy and safe holiday season. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. p00ks said,

    December 2, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Given up on this site eh? 😛

    And grats on 17K! I wanted to try this year but I wouldn’t have gotten to 1000 by any stretch of the imagination 😦

    • Lia said,

      December 2, 2012 at 10:15 pm

      Noooo I haven’t given up! This site is kind of my public face on the internet though, so I try to keep it semi-professional looking and not full of completely random oddball stuff. Which means I don’t post as much as I used to here. 😄

      And thanks! I wanted to do better, but I’m not unhappy with where I got to. Maybe next year you can try again. 🙂

      • p00ks said,

        December 3, 2012 at 10:04 am

        Fine fine, keep it clean here 😛 We may have to find you a fancy clean professional layout then. Something clinically sterile…. 😛

        And I’m going to try again in two years 🙂 2014 is my grand return to Nanowrimo!

      • Bookewyrme said,

        December 5, 2012 at 9:45 am

        Ooh, I dunno about clinically sterile. I mean, THAT’S no fun. 😉
        Yay for grand returns! I’ll be waiting for ya. ^_^


Leave a Reply

