Nanowrimo 2012

So, for me, this whole writing-seriously-to-get-published schtick started with Nanowrimo (09). I haven’t actually won Nano since that first one, but it’s come around again, so I’m gonna whack away at it once more. This time I’m going to FINISH! I have a solid story, complete with masses of research and an outline and (most of the) characters fleshed out a bit. I’m still missing a few characters (That Book still hasn’t arrived…) but we will toil on. And then I will edit the crap out of it!

Anyway, I’ve been toying with the idea of some sort of hybrid live-blog/weekly roundup for my Nanoing experience this year. I don’t know if it’ll be all that interesting, or if I’ll manage it at all, since I spend rather a lot of time chasing after the active Toddler-Munchkin these days. But don’t be surprised if I start putting some weekly updates up here along the lines of: “Wrote 10,500 words this week. Want to delete half of them, but decided to wait until December. Tried to write in afternoon on Thursday, was interrupted by diaper-explosion…” Or something. In any case, any daily-blogging will happen on the Tumblr feed, if you’re interested in that.

This year’s Nanowrimo novel is called Meretseger: A Tale of Pharoah’s Workmen and if you’re a long-time reader, it’s a reboot of my Gift of the Golden Goddess/The Draftsman’s Son novel. I’m starting over from scratch for the bajillionth time, but it’s not exactly a first draft anymore. It is, of course, Egyptian Historical Fiction, set during the New Kingdom and in the workman’s village at Deir el-Medina. My protagonist is named Meretseger, and she is a 14 year-old girl trying to find her place in society and explore her love of music.

If you’re also participating this year, good luck! Feel free to add me to your writing buddies, too.

Oh yes, and Happy Holloween too. 😉

Leave a Reply

