Goodreads Statistics

What the Goodreads statistics say I like to read.

Back at the beginning of the year (wow, six months ago already) I mentioned that I was making a Goodreads account to keep track of what I read and/or wanted to read this year. I’ve been keeping up with it fairly well, except for a brief period in the last couple of months when I abandoned the internet almost entirely. I’ve unfortunately missed some of the books I read during that period (couldn’t remember everything I’d read) but it is still a pretty good indicator of what I’ve been reading this year.

So here’s the statistics as they stand now, halfway through the year:

  • Books Read to date: 47
  • Fantasy: 27
  • Science Fiction: 7
  • Other (non-fiction or “classics”): 6
  • Mystery: 5
  • Romance: 2

I like to actually see these sorts of things laid out clearly. It really makes the trends leap out at you. For example, I’ve known for a long time that Fantasy was one of my favorite genres, but I hadn’t realized quite to what extent. Over half of the books I’ve read so far this year are Fantasy. This certainly validates my desire to write Fantasy stories of various sub-genres. However, it also leaps out at me that I have no historical novels of any sort listed. The closest I’ve come are my re-readings of Louisa May Alcott’s books, and some of the Anne of Green Gables series (which aren’t exactly historical novels as they were written during the time periods they depict). Clearly, if I want to write historical novels, I should be reading more of them. Therefore, something to remedy during the second half of this year.

Do you know what you’re reading? Do you read a disproportionate number of books in a single genre? If you are a writer, do your reading preferences accurately represent your preferred writing genre?

Currently Reading: Sanctuary by Mercedes Lackey

Leave a Reply

