New Beginnings in Egypt

A rare current-events post.

First, I have to apologize for the lack of a blog post on Wednesday. It’s been a bit of a hectic week in the Bookewyrme household. I remembered approximately Thursday evening as I was headed to bed that I hadn’t put anything up here. Hopefully it won’t happen again, though.

I don’t usually post about current events on this blog. My reasons are many and varied, but primarily by the time I post, whatever has happened usually has been covered exhaustively by other blogs and websites already. However, it isn’t often that I get to watch history occurring, especially history stemming from the place I’ve spent so much of my life studying and loving.

A quick recap for anyone not paying attention recently. A few weeks ago, Egypt’s people rose up in peaceful protest against their authoritarian president for 30 years, Mubarak. Despite the best efforts of the government, they refused to be provoked into wanton violence or destruction, even moving to help the army (which remained strictly neutral) to protect both people and places. However, they also refused to give in and go home with anything less than their entire demands. This past Friday, those demands were finally met when Mubarak resigned (or was removed?) from office entirely.

Congratulations are in order for the success of the protest, but also for their methods. The Egyptian people have a long and proud history. They are the descendants of Pharaoh, and one of the earliest civilizations in human history. This is just one more thing to add to their long list of accomplishments as a people and a country. But more importantly, they are serving as an example to other people in the region, an example of what can be accomplished when people come together peacefully but with determination.

Mubarak’s resignation is naturally not the end of the struggle towards democracy for the Egyptian people. It is merely the end of the beginning. Many other steps remain for them, harder and more mundane steps, some with no clear right or wrong. Other political commentators and observers of greater acuity than I have already enumerated them elsewhere. I just want to say, I believe in Egypt and the Egyptian people. I believe they will succeed in forming their democracy and I believe that with their success, things will get better for the common people of the country. I feel sure that they believe it as well, and belief is probably the most important part of success where government is concerned. I also believe that this is a turning-point not just in the history of Egypt, but in the history of the world.

As history unfolds before us, we must remember as much as we can. Some day, our grand-children will be doing school reports on it and interviewing us as witnesses. Until then, I simply want to say congratulations to the Egyptian people, and thank you for being awesome.

Currently Reading: Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

2 Comments

  1. February 13, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I’m excited for Egypt, but it’s still far from resolved. Sometimes the best of intentions can fall into anarchy. Hopefully, there’ll be enough people with the calm and common sense to keep things in balance.

    • Lia said,

      February 14, 2011 at 8:07 pm

      Agreed. As I said, this is just the beginning of the end (or perhaps the end of the beginning) for them. I’m hopeful that they can succeed though.


Leave a Reply

