My Kryptonite

That song always makes me think of high school.

Everyone has their weakness, the thing that keeps them from really concentrating or doing their best. That thing they simply can’t resist, no matter how hard they try. Their kryptonite, if you will. For me, it’s television. Whenever there is a tv on, I can’t concentrate on even a simple conversation, nevermind something like reading or writing or even playing a mindless game usually. Some shows are worse than others. The absolute worst for me is Scrubs. I’m not sure what it is about that show. I’ve seen every episode about half a dozen times, and yet, when it is on I can’t stop watching it. I even have difficulty stopping if there’s something incredibly important going on. Like, as a completely random example, needing to leave for work.

I tell you this, my few but loyal readers, for two reasons. First, because I want to explain why today’s post is short and not particularly insightful. I have an interesting one involving stories, and gaming and all sorts of interesting stuff lined up. The difficulty? I can’t concentrate today, and I have to leave for work soon. Three guesses why I can’t concentrate…

My second reason is to do an unofficial and completely informal poll. Does anyone else have this problem with television? Or a similar problem with something else? Surely I’m not the only one with such difficulty in multi-tasking when certain things are involved.

Meanwhile, I’m going to try and figure out how not to be late for work while my cousin watches Scrubs in our living room. Wish me luck.

Currently Reading: All’s Well that End’s Well by William Shakespeare

1 Comment

  1. January 30, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gary James, Lia Booke. Lia Booke said: Somewhat belated blog post today. Read it to find out why. http://ht.ly/3MR4K #distractions […]


Leave a Reply

