Character Interview

Daniel Cross, from By the Book.

Sunday I hinted at a surprise for today’s post. I am very pleased to announce that Crossbones, the Daniel Cross Official Fanclub scored an exclusive release-day interview with the aforesaid Daniel. He stars prominently in Scarlett Parrish’s excellent new release, By The Book. An erotic romance with plenty of snark and wit, I highly recommend it as a fast enjoyable read. But mostly you should read it for the Daniel. Hot, intelligent, and brash, he steals the story.

Excitingly, he is here to talk with us today! So without further ado, a transcript of my interview with him. Be warned, Daniel is a thoroughly spicy character, so if you are easily offended, please do not click through.

Crossbones: For those just joining us, what is your name?

Daniel: A lot of people call me Daniel Cross. But I’ve got a middle name, which I like to use in polite company. Not that I’m in polite company very often, but you know…fallen angels sometimes go to church. And I tell them, the name’s Cross. Daniel Fucking Cross.

*sits back and grins*

Crossbones: *giggles briefly* Um, so what do you do for a living?

I write books. Sometimes short stories in various genres. A friend of mine, Scarlett-

Just a friend?

Yeah. *sighs heavily* Friend. She’s got this stupid rule about not fucking her own characters. Says she’s holding out for a threeway with James Purefoy and Richard Armitage. I could go for that myself, to be honest…

Daniel!

What? Oh, sorry. *shrug* Scarlett says I’m enough to put me in one of her books. Could you imagine it? Me? In an erotic romance? *leans forward and smiles*

Well, um… *licks lips* Anyway! What sort of books do you write?

Not dirty ones. I get enough filth in my real life. Mysteries. Psychological thrillers. I flatter myself, but I’m aiming for a cross between Nicci French and Mark Billingham.

How did you meet the delightfully adorable Reece Hutton?

Yeah, he kinda has that effect on people, huh? He works in a library. Who’d’a thought a hot guy would work as a librarian? Mind, it’s rare to find someone as hot as me writing books. Apart from Scarlett. And you of course. Are you single-

Married.

Hmm. Where was I?

Reece. Remember him? Tell us what first attracted you to him.

His arse.

Daniel Cross!

What? *shows his palms in mock surrender* You asked! Okay, okay… He, um…he looked like he was…curious.

About…?

About my arse.

*facepalm* Can we be sensible for just one second?

No can do, babe. I’m Daniel Fucking Cross. I don’t do sensible. *sits back and crosses arms* Next question?

Um… *checks notebook* Tell us the most interesting things about yourself.

I’m a slut.

*pause*

Wait. That’s it?

Isn’t that enough? Oh, okay then. Uh…I’m a bisexual manslut. A complete whore. I’ll fuck anything that moves. But I have a heart, you know. Remember that chapter you liked…?

Ohhh yeahhh…Do I ever. *nods*

See? Told you. But don’t tell anyone. Don’t want to give the game away. Just tell ’em, buy the book. Heh. Scarlett likes plays on words. Buy the book called By the Book, which is about a bi-guy who writes books. She’s twisted. Like a corkscrew.

I’ll tell her you said that.

She already knows.

Yeeeees. So. Anyway. W’re all just dying to know, what’s your ultimate fantasy?

*bursts out laughing* C’mere. *he leans forward and whispers in our ear*

Seriously? Is that even legal? I mean, how do you…with the…?

*Daniel continues whispering*

Donkey?

Yeah, and a bucket of custard.

Custard!? But…why…nevermind. *pauses and looks suspicious* A real donkey?

Nah. Just…look…how many people will see this?

Not many. *mutters* Just as many as I can whore this blog to.

Okay, good. Well… *leans forward and whispers again* Just seeing the look on Reece’s face is enough for me. When he…you know…

So that’s a fantasy fulfilled then?

Many times.

Well, thank you very much for dropping in to talk to us. Give our love to Scarlett, and best of luck out there. We here at Crossbones are rooting for ya!

Ha! You said ‘rooting.’ Dirty bitch. That’s why I like you.

Yes. Well, ahem. Thank you.

If you are interested in reading By the Book, you can find it on it’s Loose Id buy page, here. You can also find links at Scarlett Parrish’s website and blog, here. So what are you waiting for?

4 Comments

  1. January 4, 2011 at 11:25 am

    So THAT’S what he’s been up to while my back was turned.

    Daniel Fucking Cross – you get back here this instant!

    • Lia said,

      January 4, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      Aw, but I was having fun with him!

  2. January 5, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lia Booke, Lia Booke. Lia Booke said: Special interview w/ the very naughty Daniel, from @scarlettparrish's new release. A must read for erotic romance fans. http://ht.ly/3y3LH […]

  3. July 1, 2011 at 10:35 am

    […] looking back over my blog a while ago, I realized that while I have a character interview with the love interest from Scarlett Parrish’s By the Book, somehow I managed to not yet post […]


Leave a Reply

