It’s Beginning…

…to feel a lot like Christmas!

Well, I put up our Christmas tree, a few lights, and wrapped up the presents I’ve gotten so far.

It’s amazing how my mood lightens with a little Christmas trapping. Of course, the true spirit of Christmas isn’t about the things or the presents or whatever. It’s about love and family and togetherness (if you’re religious then it’s about a bit more, of course, but that’s something else). For me though, I sometimes need the meaningless rituals to turn my spirits onto the proper course.

The weather is a far cry from last Christmas.

Christmas in England was a snowy, lonely affair, with no family around and most of my friends gone back to their own homes as well. This season is cold (and perhaps even a little snowy this weekend, too, shockingly enough) but there will plenty of family, friends, and of course good food. Oh, and there will be a Christmas puppy, too.

Apologies for the rather light post today. I’m gearing up to spend tomorrow in the hospital with my mother. Naturally, there are half a dozen other tasks crying out for my attention as well. Hopefully I’ll have something better for Sunday.

6 Comments

  1. December 8, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    The snow makes it look pretty and quiet. I need to play some Christmas music now. 🙂

    • Lia said,

      December 8, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      That’s actually a picture from last year, but it did make it VERY quiet and really lovely. Christmas music is always a good thing! ^_^

  2. Rafael said,

    December 10, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Merry Xmas and Happy Holidays.

    Nice little tree. At least you’re no buried under the snow that hit OopNorth and Scotland.

    • Lia said,

      December 11, 2010 at 9:55 am

      Thanks! Yea, I heard that the snow was pretty bad. I actually sort of miss the snow myself, though I admit it can be a pain sometimes!

  3. Elle said,

    December 16, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Loving the little tree! Hope you’re not snowed under…apparently it’s going to get worse. As pretty as the snow may be, it’s so annoying!

    • Lia said,

      December 16, 2010 at 10:37 pm

      Actually, that snow picture is from last year. I don’t live where it snows anymore, unfortunately!


Leave a Reply

