This Year’s Winners

Are you a Nanowrimo winner this year?

Nanowrimo is over for another year. To those of you who finished and won this year, I salute you and congratulate you heartily! There is nothing quite like that feeling of relief and accomplishment. Take yourself out and celebrate well, because the next step is revising that tangled pile of words you just concocted! Next year I’ll be standing there beside you in the winner’s circle, I have no doubt. Unfortunately, this year I did not win, nor even come close to it. There are a variety of reasons for this, both personal and writing-related.

Part of my non-completion of Kipling’s Cat stemmed from a need for more research which I did not have time to complete. Also, the library was not very forth-coming with the necessary information. I fear I will be forced to appeal to a higher authority: the University Library! I’m already plotting my plan of attack on the parking-lots. I still mean to finish the book, sooner rather than later, but it became impossible to move forward ahead of my research, as the plot may take a rather dramatic shift, depending on the results of my reading.

However, I certainly will not count November a complete loss where writing is concerned. Just because I was stumped by one story did not mean I stopped writing. The beauty of having multiple projects in progress is that when I get stuck on one, there’s always another to turn to. I have made quite a bit of progress on Through Brass Goggles and the end is very nearly in sight. Then it will be time to edit, beta, polish and query that sucker. I plan to have it query-or-nearly-ready by the new year.

Meanwhile, in the past week or so I’ve been getting flashes of ideas and the urge to go back to writing my Egyptian historical novel. I rather think I’m going to content myself with taking notes and hold the promise of writing that one out as a reward for finishing a complete draft of TBG.

2 Comments

  1. Elle said,

    December 7, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I’m the same as you. I tried, but didn’t complete it. I was basically too busy with my day job and of course, started rushing my book and it really showed 😦 So I gave up and am working at my own pace.

    Congratulations for even trying and at least writing something! WE ARE NOT FAILURES! 😀

    • Lia said,

      December 8, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      WOO! Triers unite! Or something. 😀


Leave a Reply

