One Whole Year

Belated blogiversary post.

Monday was the one year anniversary of this blog. This also means that I’ve been writing ‘seriously’ (i.e. with possible publication in mind) for a year. That year has been exciting, eye-opening, terrifying and perhaps a little disappointing. A year ago I was certain I’d have a publishing contract by now. Luckily, before too much longer I discovered the Absolute Write forums and my expectations got a bit more realistic. I did expect I’d have something query-worthy finished by now. However, I don’t regret what I’ve accomplished this year. I think I’ve done well enough, and it leaves room for me to do better next year.

As far as this blog goes, I do think it is time for a bit of a change. I certainly intend to keep blogging twice weekly, assuming I don’t stay up all night reading on blog-days, and will try for a more regular Sunday/Wednesday schedule. But I want to do a bit more. I hope to have a few more guests, participate in more blog-fests, maybe do some different types of posts. I’ve been toying with adding some flash-fiction or segments of something longer on occasion. I’m also going to change the look and layout of the site (so if the site is down this week, please excuse us while we get things settled behind the scenes) thought not, it appears, the color scheme.

Anyway, onward and upward. Or something.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my readers who celebrate. Enjoy your turkey! For everyone else, see you Sunday!

6 Comments

  1. November 25, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Happy anniversary. All writing is a journey, of discovery, of self, and of dreams.

    I might not reach the destination, but I’ll enjoy the view along the way. πŸ™‚

  2. November 25, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Guests on your blog, hmm? Wonder who you could be referring to.

    *eyes sidebar*

    39 days…9 hours…and counting…

  3. Bookewyrme said,

    November 25, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Maria: I agree. I mean, I want to reach the goal for sure, but even if I don’t I’ll still have greatly enjoyed the writing. This reminds me of a quote in a friend’s signature on AW. “Writing is like making love. Don’t worry about the orgasm, just concentrate on the process.” Isabelle Allende.

    Scarlett: Oh I think you know who one of the very first guests will be. And I’ll be dragging you on too, for sure! Excuse me while I go giggle maniacally about that… πŸ˜€

  4. Jan O'Hara said,

    November 29, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Congrats on your blogversary! And as we have discussed elsewhere, I understand the desire to tweak templates. πŸ™‚

    As for the elapsed year, I understand the impatience but it sounds like you’ve reset your expectations to run a marathon rather than a sprint – an excellent strategory, IMHO.

    • Bookewyrme said,

      November 29, 2010 at 1:59 pm

      Thanks! Yea, when I first started blogging last year, I was pretty green and had totally unrealistic expectations. Now, thanks to AW, I know just how much I don’t know so I’ve readjusted my expectations accordingly. πŸ˜€

  5. December 16, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Oooh, you’re such an inspiration. I love this blog!


Leave a Reply

