Reading Withdrawals

And other current events.

I’ve decided to concentrate on all the good things that have happened (or are happening) lately, and let them drown out the stresses from this past week. So today I’m celebrating a list of things. In no particular order, they are:

  • My birthday last Monday.
  • My grandfather’s 91st birthday today!
  • My first wedding anniversary tomorrow.
  • Participating in my very first blogfest last Tuesday. It was totally awesome, and  a lot of fun. Now I’m trying to decide which one I want to participate in next. I think I’ll try for one blogfest a month in future. Also, I must thank all the other participants who stopped by to read my entry and comment on it! Thanks so much!
  • Turning in the last of my papers and taking the next to last of my exams last Friday and Saturday respectively. One last little exam left and I’m free to concentrate on my dissertation (so excited!) and my fiction (still excited!) all summer with no distractions!

I haven’t been able to read much lately. Actually, I read a lot, it’s just all school-related. And don’t get me wrong, at least some of that is extremely fascinating and I enjoy it. But I miss curling up with a good novel in marathon reading sessions. I miss always having a novel that I’m part-way through. The knowledge that if I have a few-minute wait, or a spare hour before bedtime or am having a meal, I have a novel I can pick up and dive back into used to carry me through the day. Now, I carry non-fiction books which aren’t really very good for short waits, and it is quite difficult to eat, read and take notes. Consequently I’m suffering from some serious reading withdrawals.

With reading withdrawals and celebrations in mind, and with the idea of needing a good reward for myself, I ordered a brand new book from the library earlier this week. The book is Elizabeth Peters’ latest Amelia Peabody novel, A River in the Sky. This latest installment in the series is the first which doesn’t take place in Egypt (although parts of The Curse of the Pharoahs and The Deeds of the Disturber are set in England) but I’m still excited anyway. It is set in Palestine instead, which I find convenient since I’ve just spent the past winter studying Near Eastern archaeology! Needless to say, I can’t wait to start reading! I will doubtless put my impressions into words here once I’ve finished the book.

Thought for the Week: “Some concessions to a temperament are necessary if the marital state is to flourish.” An Amelia Peabody quote.

Currently Reading: A River in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters

Leave a Reply

