Bend in the Road

Life likes to stick these little corkscrew bends in the road, sometimes.

Those bends in the road of life always seem to come at the most inopportune times. It’s not that I object to the twists and turns life takes, once I get used to them. I just wish they’d pick less busy seasons to come along during. Besides the normal business of exams and final papers, I must also prepare to say goodbye to my husband for three months as he must return to the States ahead of me. This all came about very suddenly, and I’m not much looking forward to it.

So, I’d like to apologize for the lack of a mid-week post. I’ll try to do better in the future, but for the foreseeable future I’m only promising something on Sundays. Needless to say, I’m not getting much writing done right now either, so the writing news may be a bit scanty for a bit as well. However, there is a bright spot to being alone in a strange country with nothing to do except finish my degree for three months. Namely, I’ll most likely have absolutely tons of time to write. Whether or not I’m motivated to do so is another story, but since I recently had two more story inspirations in the past week alone, I think I’ll probably be at least a little motivated. There is no cloud so dark that there’s not a silver lining to it, or so I keep telling myself.

Anyway, now I need to try to place an international call to my grandmother, who is in the hospital, for Mother’s Day. Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there, hopefully it’s an uneventful one.

Thought for the Week: “My future seemed to stretch out before me like a straight road. I thought I could see along it for many a milestone. Now there is a bend in it. I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe that the best does.” from Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

Currently Reading: The Tear of the Gods by Raymond E. Feist

Leave a Reply

