Internet: Favorite Places

I was going to call this post “Bumps for Hump-day” but thought that sounded less than PG!

I thought I might take today to talk about some* of my favorite places around the internet, particularly those connected with writing. This way, I can also try to send some more Readers to places/people whose work I enjoy. Mostly these are not blogs (my favorite blogs always eventually make it into the blog-roll) and some are more loosely associated with writing than others. All are thoroughly worth checking out, however.

Digital EgyptThis is a great online resource for anyone interested in Egyptology, which (I think) I found through the lovely Libbie Hawker. It is particularly helpful as I begin my foray into historical writing. It has timelines, images, archaeological records, maps, and many other helpful tidbits of information.

Girl Genius OnlineWhile this isn’t exactly a writing link, I wanted to include it here for a couple of reasons. Firstly, Girl Genius is one of the best written and drawn comics on or off the internet, in my opinion. Secondly, they definitely deserve the credit for my interest in Steampunk Fantasy. The webcomic creators, the Foglios, consider their work ‘Gaslamp Fantasy’ but it amounts to essentially the same thing. At any rate, I love this comic, and it is certainly an inspiration in my own writing.

Rho’s OdysseyRegular Readers may recall a few weeks ago when I posted an excerpt from this story here at the Library. This is an ongoing story, continuing beyond the excerpt I wrote, and still in need of interested writers. Begun and organized on Dark Wyrm Reads, it is written by many different authors, who pick up the story and continue it in whatever direction they wish from where the last author left it. It is definitely an interesting and fun activity, and I am so glad I was able to participate in it, and hope I will be able to do so again sometime in the future.

Words on a StringThis site was begun by a very dear friend to host her own stories online, mainly for private consumption. Later, she opened it up to myself and another dear friend so we could all share our stories with each-other. Recently, we all agreed to make our work public. Each of us has our own section of the site, and we post excerpts and stories sporadically. If you were wondering why the Library never (except for Rho’s Odyssey) contains excerpts from my stories, it is because they are all over there.

Absolute Write Water CoolerA writing forum. If you like to write at all, and particularly if you have an interest in being published in any capacity, I highly recommend these forums. It’s like an entire degree in publishing and creative writing. You don’t even have to make an account (though it’s more fun if you can interact with the fine folks over there) to learn from them.

NaNoWriMoIn case you’ve never heard of this, it is National Novel Writing Month. The big one is in November, though they host some other events in other months as well, and I participated last year. The idea is to write a 50k word (or more) novel in 30 days. Participating showed me that I actually could write a novel, all I needed was some discipline. This year, I’m not going to wait until the last week of October to decide what to write about!

Wulfemoon StudiosThis is the art website of another dear friend of mine. She mainly does Fantasy, though sometimes she does a bit of Steampunk as well. I love her style, and actually seriously hope I can have her illustrate the cover for my first published book, once I manage to finish something publishable. I know that the author doesn’t always have control over that, but I can still always hope. And that’s why I’ve included this link!

*I’ve left out some obvious ones, such as Wikipedia, Thesaurus.com etc. and this is by no means a comprehensive list of less-obvious ones either.


1 Comment

  1. January 12, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    […] that’s right. Today is officially Girl Genius Day. I’ve mentioned before how much I love the webcomic Girl Genius, and how it started my interest in steampunk. It is an […]


Leave a Reply

