Spring in My Soul

Spring is coming. Maybe it’s already here. Only the pictures can tell.

Spring is my season. Maybe it’s because I was born in late spring. Or maybe it’s just the most comfortable season in terms of temperature, particularly in Florida where I have lived the longest. But whatever the reason, Spring is the season that makes me the happiest, energizes and uplifts me. I have nothing against the other seasons, and find them beautiful each in their own way, but if I could have Spring all year round, I’d be as happy as the spring-time birdsong always sounds.

Now, Spring is definitely coming to where I live. I can feel it, singing in my blood, and making me want to dance down the sidewalk. I see it, in the tightly-furled buds at the end of all the tree-branches, and the sudden profusion of snow-drops and crocuses, among other early spring flowers. I hear it in the sudden profusion of near-constant birdsong. Of course, an entire week of blue skies and sunshine is a bit of a hint too.

Spring is here, and it makes me want to celebrate.

Thought for the Week: “The beautiful spring came; and when Nature resumes her loveliness, the human soul is apt to revive also.” Harriet Ann Jacobs

Currently Reading: Archaeologies of Social Life by Lynn Meskell

2 Comments

  1. Ann Vevera said,

    March 16, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I write small posts. It’s ok. That’s what I like to read too. Short stuff. Do you still live in FL?

    • Bookewyrme said,

      March 17, 2010 at 1:51 pm

      Not anymore, though we’ll be returning there in the fall. I live and go to school in the UK right now.


Leave a Reply

