Lazy Sunday

I’m afraid I am singularly uninspired this Sunday to do anything. Part of this is no doubt a reaction to the end of the first week of classes, and finally not being horribly ill anymore. I suspect part of this is also a function of my auto-procrastinate button, which somehow got switched on this weekend, despite my good resolutions to complete a rather long ‘to-do’ list. Unfortunately, this also means I’m un-inclined to even do any writing. Because, if I’m writing I should be typing up that presentation or the dissertation proposal, but I don’t want to do either, so I’m not writing! Simple solution. But, rather than abandon my faithful Readers this weekend, I will give a little round-up of the week with commentary.

  • Haiti earthquake – Naturally, this has been all over the news, all over the web, and is in fact the story of the week. There have been heartwarming stories, sad stories, inspiring stories, and stories that make me want to slap people for stupidity. My heart goes out to the Haitians still suffering, and urge those who can to contribute in some way, however small, to the relief efforts.
  • Rejection – In more private news, I got my first rejection this week for a story. And nor was I the only one, as several of my fellow-writers from the Absolute Writes forum (where I heard of the call for submissions) were also rejected. Silly publishers.
  • Editors – In happier news, I managed to bribe convince a few more people to act as editors for my stories. Not that I’m incapable of editing my stories myself (I flatter myself I’m actually a fairly decent editor) but one should always have several other opinions. I fully believe that most writers are a bit too close to their work to always be able to see the things which just don’t work. Many thanks to those willing to help me improve.
  • Twitter – I finally, grudgingly, joined the Twitter generation. I still think it’s a bit silly, and rather like an invitation to stalking. But, I decided it might be worth it if it helps me build the readership of this blog. And at least it’s only under my pen-name, and it’s rather hard to stalk a pen-name.
  • Publishing is dying – Again. In case you were wondering, publishing is yet again on the brink of failure, brought on by the big bad e-book and Kindle industry. After all, hard-copy books are so last decade. Never-mind the fact that publishing is simply evolving into the new market (they really are, I promise! Even if your publisher isn’t, some of them are). What we really need is a super-hero to swoop in and save books from the Super-villain!

And that’s all I have for today. There were certainly other internet stories floating about this week, but one small blog can not cover them all. And now I must find the ‘procrastination off’ button.

Thought for the Week: “All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.” Charles M. Schulz

Currently Reading: Exile’s Return by Raymond E. Feist

3 Comments

  1. p00ks said,

    January 24, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    So there are more people out there to correctly edit your stories? Perfect! I won’t feel guilty for being a terrible editor.

    And I don’t know what you’re talking about. I’m not too close to my stories.

  2. Dolly said,

    January 29, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Thank you! I would now go on this blog every day!
    Thanks
    Dolly


Leave a Reply

